Our Team

Principal Investigator

Prof. Dr. Kerstin Kaufmann

Department for Plant Cell and Molecular Biology, Institute for Biology, Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin

Scientists and associated project leaders

Dr. Julia Schumacher

Group member since 2013

Dr. Cezary Smaczniak

He joined the group as a Humboldt Postdoc Fellow in 2015 and is an independent project leader since 2019.

PhD Students

Xiaocai Xu

Group member since 2017

Rosario Vega

Group member since 2019

Peilin Chen

Group member since 2019

Manuel Neumann

Group member since 2020

Siye Chen

Group member since 2021

Undergraduate Students

Christopher Großmann

Master student, Student assistant

Join Us

Master and bachelor student projects are available: please feel free to Contact Us!


Johanna Müschner

Technician/Lab Manager

Tel: 030-2093 49747

Susanne Olstowski-Jacoby

Technician/Lab Manager

Tel: 030-2093 49747

Ute Duderstadt-Gries


Tel: 030-2093 49742

Group Photos

Flower Meeting 2019 @France

June 2019

@Côte d’Azur, France

From left to right: Dijun, Rosario, Kerstin, Cezary, Fayaz, Bhausaheb, Li, Xiaocai, Jose M. Muiño (MDC, Berlin)

Flower Meeting 2015 @Spain

June 2015

@Aiguablava, Spain

From left to right: Christopher, Hilda, Julia, Suzanne, Johanna, Kerstin, Wenhao, Dijun, Cezary

April 2013

@Sanssouci Park, Potsdam

From left to right: Diego, Suzanne, Christopher, Alice Pajoro (WUR, Wageningen), Cezary, Hilda, Marco Busscher (WUR, Wageningen), Kerstin, Wenhao

December 2012

Christmas dinner

Back row from left to right: Kerstin, Diego, Suzanne, Christopher; Front row: Jose M. Muiño (MPIMG, Berlin)


  • Bhausaheb Pawar, PhD student (2017-2021), graduated Dec 2021
  • Fayaz Imamrasul Shaikh, PhD student (2019-2021)
  • Li Chen, PhD student (2016-2021), graduated Apr 2021
  • Dr. Dijun Chen, Postdoc (2015-2019)
  • Dr. Wenhao Yan, Postdoc (2013-2019)
  • Dr. Izabel Moraes, Postdoc (2015-2018)
  • Suzanne de Bruijn, PhD student (2012-2017), graduated Nov 2017
  • Hilda van Mourik, PhD student (2012-2017), graduated Nov 2017
  • Christopher Wils, PhD student (2012-2017)
  • Dr. Mohammad Mehrnia, Postdoc (2016-2017)
  • Dr. Diego Durantini, Postdoc and Lab Manager (2012-2014)